Guide to Murrumbateman

Come for our workshop, stay for any number of other local attractions!

Depending on the day you are coming there are many great places to visit in and around Murrumbateman. This list of things to see and do in the area is not exhaustive and we do not receive any incentives for listing businesses here. We believe in supporting local businesses and highlighting our slice of Australia. Don’t forget Yass is only 20 minutes up the road and also has many wonderful attractions. VisitNSW has an in-depth guide to things to do in Yass, just click here.

If you are a local business and would like to be added to this list please send us an email using our contact form and we will endeavour to add you to our list.

Wineries:

There are many wineries in Murrumbateman. Most offer cellar doors and some serve scones, pizza and even breakfast! Below is a list of links to local wineries.

The Murrumbateman Moving Feast is a yearly event held around late September or October. Local wineries offer meals paired with their wines. Tour buses allow you to safely travel between wineries. Find out more at www.makersofmurrumbateman.org.au.

Barton Estate – cellar door and weekend tastings. www.bartonestate.com.au

Clonakilla – cellar door open daily. www.clonakilla.com.au

Capital Wines – cellar door located in the nearby suburb of Hall (ACT). www.capitalwines.com.au

Dionysus Winery – cellar door with tea, coffee and light snacks. www.dionysus-winery.com.au

Eden Road Wines – cellar door open Wednesday to Sunday. www.edenroadwines.com.au

Four Winds Vineyard – have a cellar door and offer wood fired pizzas on weekends. www.fourwindsvineyard.com.au

Gallagher Wines – cellar door and specialty cheese tastings. www.gallagherwines.com.au

Granitevale Estate – cellar door open on weekends. www.granitevaleestate.com.au

Helm Wines – open Thursday to Monday. www.helmwines.com.au

Jeir Creek Wines – cellar door and a Muscat making and blending masterclass.  www.jeircreekwines.com.au

McKellar Ridge Wines – cellar door open on weekends. www.mckellarridgewines.com.au

Murrumbateman Winery – offer a cellar door with wine tastings and food options. www.murrumbatemanwinery.com.au

Shaw Vineyard Estate – cellar door offering more than just wine, also the home of Olleyville Restaurant. www.shawvineyards.com.au

Yarrh Wines – cellar door Friday to Sunday. www.yarrhwines.com.au

Markets:

The Murrumbateman Village Market is held on the 2nd and 4th Saturday of each month from 9am until 1pm. For more information visit www.mvmarket.com.

The Yass Farmers Market is held on the 1st and 3rd Saturday of each month from 10am until 1pm. For more information visit www.yassfarmersmarket.org.au.

Murrumbateman Field Days runs annually in October. Visit www.mfdays.com for this year’s dates and additional information.

Alpacas:

If you want to learn about alpacas below are a few alpaca breeders/exhibitors in the area:

One Tree Hill Alpacas – offer training courses and state on their website that they regularly hold a stall at the Murrumbateman Village Markets. Their website is www.onetreehillalpacas.com.au.

Coraz Alpacas – offer alpacas for sale. Their website is www.corazalpacas.com.au

Eaglewood – sell alpacas and also offer a bed and breakfast/farmstay accommodation option on their property. Also have an online store for alpaca products. Their website is www.eaglewood.com.au.

Restaurants:

There are several restaurants in the Murrumbateman area. They include:

Poachers Pantry – a smokehouse, restaurant, vineyard and wedding venue all rolled into one. Find them at www.poacherspantry.com.au.

Olleyville – located at Shaw vineyard, they serve breakfast on the weekend in addition to regular lunch and dinner hours. Find them at  www.olleyville.com.au.

Win’s Creek Meadery – yes they are the competition but they are also fellow locals and run a cafe and produce homemade mead (alcohol made from fermented honey!). They have an impressive cathedral hive inside the cafe which is worth a look. Find them at www.bindaree.com.au/wins-creek-meadery.

Clementine Restaurant – is located in Yass (20 minutes north of Murrumbateman) and is another local restaurant worth considering. Find them at www.clementinerestaurant.com.au.

For something sweet head over to Robyn Rowe Chocolates  – they sell handmade chocolates using imported, fair trade, Belgian chocolate. Find them at  www.robynrowechocolates.com.au

 

Please support local business!

 

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: